2011: A Film Odyssey

How many movies do you reckon you watch a year? You probably don’t keep count, let alone keep a numbered list of the movies you watch over 365 days. Only weirdos and obsessive compulsive people do that sort of thing.

Now, I don’t have OCD, but I’ll admit I can be a bit of a weirdo.

I listed the number of movies I watched in 2010 and only came out with 137 (not counting movies I’d already seen before). And considering I review movies for both my university paper and a website, whilst still making regular visits to my local video store, I thought 137 was a little weak.  I did this because I wanted to break that record and write a review for every single one THIS YEAR – 2011.

WHY?

As the saying goes, practice makes perfect. With dreams of starting up my own film magazine and working in the film industry, this blog is dedicated to my learning about what makes a great film, working on an individualistic voice and offering original opinions on movies I haven’t seen till now. Also, I just like watching movies.

I mean, I was raised on Disney movies as a kid, and with parents who didn’t censor too much of what I watched, I managed to get away with watching action blockbusters like Die Hard and The Terminator without being told off for staying past my bedtime. I even remember rolling around on the floor and watching midday movies like Calamity Jane and Some Like It Hot. As I grew up, I fell in love with Ferris Bueller and wished I could be part of The Breakfast Club, while American Pie taught me more than I needed to know about teen sex. Post high-school came film studies lectures and an assorted bag of foreign films, silent films and classics, while my reviewing gigs have invited me to recent releases and straight-to-DVD wonders that leave you with less brain cells than you had before.

It’s no secret – I love movies. When I was younger I used to play multiple roles of goodie and baddie after watching Batman Returns.

…least I’m a weirdo with a blog, right?

In addition to this, I don’t think a film critic can improve without their own critics, so I want this blog to be open to comments, criticisms and questions anyone out there in the big wide world might have. So give me your worst, as long as it’s constructive…

Your neighbourhood friendly,

Film Kid

Leave a Reply

